WWDC 14: What’s In It For Us?

WWDC 14

Apple’s World Wide Developers Conference is happening today at 10am (which means 1pm here on the east coast).  On days when apple hold an event I always get excited like a kid on Christmas.  That said, I believe Apple has become a slightly different company since Steve passed.  Whether it WWDC or Macworld, you rarely would get a hint of what was to come.  Lately, it seems the media has been able to guess their next move nearly every time.  One thing, however, has my attention.  Apple’s Eddie Cue has said to expect their best product pipeline in 25 years.  Think about the products that have been introduced in the last 25 years…..That would include the iMac, iPod, iPhone, iPad….my goodness, any of those would be tough to beat.

So, everyone else has thrown their prediction in, so I’ll throw in mine.  As I said, Apple sucks at keeping a secret these days, so a few things I believe are a given

-iOS 8.  It’ll be announced today.  It’ll buff out the bugs that people have been complaining about.  It’ll otherwise look mostly the same as iOS 7.  People are really hoping for an improved notification center.

-OSX.  It’ll get some love.  Some iOS style love.  They won’t pull a Microsoft and try to put the same os on the desktop as on their portables.

-Wearables.  Nope.  Call me a buzzkill, I don’t think they’re coming today.

-Apple TV.  I think so.  I think we may see a new box and maybe a new content deal.  The Beats acquisition could play into that.

-Beats.  We’ll here a light teaser about how Beats fits into the Apple world.  Honestly, for the price they paid, I see the Beats branding replacing iTunes.

Now to answer the question in the title.  What’s in it for us editors?  My prediction is: Very little.  I have my fingers and toes crossed for an update to Final Cut.  My gut tells me that it isn’t gonna happen.  That said, there is room for Apple to surprise the heck out of me and update the whole pro line.  That would put me in a very good mood.

 

Leave a comment